The World Lighthouse Hub

Pharology - History of Lighthouses in the British Isles

BR00: The Development of Lighthouses Around the British Isles

Today, the "British Isles" consists of two sovereign countries - the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. For reasons that should become clear in the following articles, the management of lighthouses currently falls in the jurisdiction of three General Lighthouse Authorities (GLAs): The Corporation of Trinity House of Deptford Strond (known simply as Trinity House); The Northern Lighthouse Board and the Commissioners of Irish Lights.

Trinity House manages lightstructures in England, Wales, the Channel Islands and Gibraltar

The Northern Lighthouse Board manages lightstructures in Scotland and the Isle of Man.

The Commissioners of Irish Lights manage lightstructures in the whole of Ireland (i.e. including the UK province of Northern Ireland